APSRC Go to Michigan Tech home page Takes you to University Web page for Prospective Students Takes you to University Web page for Current Students Complete List of Majors and Minors for all Colleges and Schools Go to Michigan Tech Athletics Website Visit the University Alumni Page Information for Parents Web Page for Faculty and Staff Search Michigan Tech Campus The Whole University Directory from A to Z Go to Advanced Power Systems Research Center (APSRC)
APSRC (APS Labs)
Advanced Power Systems Research Center (APRSC) Members
  Last Name First Name email Phone Department Expertise Kewords
Allen Jeffrey jstallen@mtu.edu 906-487-2349 ME-EM Capillary Flow, Interfacial Transport Phenomena, Fuel Cells, Phase-Change Heat Transfer, Microgravity Fluid Physics
Bar Ziv Ezra ebarziv@mtu.edu 906-487-3151 ME-EM

Clean Coal Combustion, Fuel Switching in Coal Power Plants, Torrefaction and pyrolysis of Biomass

Beard John jebeard@mtu.edu 906-487-3110 ME-EM Design of Mechanical Systems and Hybrid Electric Powertrains, Biomedical Engineering, Manufacturing 
Blough Jason jrblough@mtu.edu 906-487-1020 ME-EM Vibrations, Unique Instrumentation/Data Acquisition, Digital Signal Processing, Noise Control
Chen Bo bochen@mtu.edu 906-487-3537 ME-EM Computational intelligence, Computer-aided modeling and simulation, Embedded systems, Signal processing, and Intelligent transportation systems.
Cornilsen Bahne bccornil@mtu.edu 906-487-2295 Chemistry Solid State Chemistry, Vibrational Spectroscopy, Physical Chemistry
Endres William wjendres@mt u.edu 906-487-2567 ME-EM Machining Dynamics, Cutting Mechanics, Manufacturing Processes
Gauchia Antonio antonio@mtu.edu 906-487-2513 ME-EM  
Gauchia Lucia gauchia@mtu.edu 906-487-3382 ME-EM, ECE Energy Storage Systems, State estimation for batteries and supercapacitors
Hackney Steve hackney@mtu.edu 906-487-2170
MSE Lithium ion batteries, surface and interface dynamics, thin films and nanostructures, thermodynamics, diffusional instabilities and applications of electron microscopy
Johnson Dana dana@mtu.edu 906-487-2803 Business Outcomes based research with emphasis in healthcare and supply chain associated with biofuels, both liquids and solids
Johnson Jaclyn jenesbit@mtu.edu 906-487-3433 ME-EM Fundamentals of Diesel Spray and Combustion, Spark Ignition, Spray Combustion, Optical and Laser Diagnostics, Thermophysical Properties; Spray & Combustion Modeling
Johnson John H. jjohnson@mtu.edu 906-487-2576 ME-EM Internal combustion engines
Johnson Mark marjohns@mtu.edu 906-487-1662 Technology Design of test-stand systems to conduct research, Lean and agile manufacturing, with emphasis on total productive maintenance
Lee Seong-Young sylee@mtu.edu 906-487-2559 ME-EM ISpray Combustion, Fuel Flexibilities, Soot Emissions, Internal Combustion Engines, Gas Turbine Engine, Laser-Based Combustion Diagnostics
Miers Scott A. samiers@mtu.edu 906-487-2709 ME-EM Alternative and renewable transportation fuels, internal combustion engine efficiency, performance and emissions, wireless data acquisition techniques, combustion visualization
Naber Jeffrey jdnaber@mtu.edu 906-487-1938 ME-EM Internal Combustion Engines, Hydrogen and Biofuels, and After-Treatment
  Narain Amitabh narain@mtu.edu 906-487-2555 ME-EM Fluid Mechanics and Heat Transfer, Condensing /Phase-change flows
Parker Gordon ggparker@mtu.edu 906-487-1850 ME-EM Nonlinear Controls, Mechatronics, and Dynamics
Ponta Fernando flponta@mtu.edu 906-487-3563 ME-EM Theoretical and Computational Fluid Mechanics, Vortex Dynamics, Fluid-Structure Interaction, Wind-Turbine Aerodynamics, Renewable-Energy Sources, Energy Systems
Shahbakhti Mahdi mahdish@mtu.edu 906-487-3405 ME-EM Dynamic Systems Modeling and Control, Powertrain/Vehicle Control, Internal Combustion Engines, Alternative/Renewable Fuels, Vehicular Emissions and Aftertreatment Systems
Tanner Franz tanner@mtu.edu 906-487-2190 Math Sciences CFD, Turbulent Reacting Multiphase Flows, Numerical Methods, Scientific Computing, Optimal Control
Van Karsen Chuck cdvankar@mtu.edu 906-487-2159 ME-EM Vibration, Modal Analysis, Acoustics
Yang Song Lin (Jason) slyang@mtu.edu 906-487-2624 ME-EM Applied Computational Fluid Dynamics and Heat Transfer, Engine Flow Simulation, DPF and DOC Modeling and Simulation, Computational Aerodynamics

Michigan Technological University
is an equal opportunity educational institution / equal opportunity employer